Compared · Verified 23 to 24 September 2026

AthenaHQ alternative: RankRush vs AthenaHQ

AthenaHQ scores 24.5/32 and RankRush 21.5/32 on our 24-check AI visibility rubric. Pick AthenaHQ if you need AI traffic and revenue attribution, more AI engines on the entry plan and agency and white-label features. Pick RankRush if you need frequent re-scans and multi-market tracking.

AthenaHQ #16 · RankRush #21 · OF 45 TOOLS
24-check rubric Verified 23 to 24 September 2026

Outcome

Does it help you rank in AI answers?

AthenaHQ
6/8
RankRush
5.5/8

Performance

Can you trust the data?

AthenaHQ
5/8
RankRush
6/8

Features

Does it fit your team?

AthenaHQ
7.5/8
RankRush
4.5/8

Weighted total

Outcome counts double

AthenaHQ
24.5/32
RankRush
21.5/32

The short answer

AthenaHQ or RankRush: which should you choose?

We only list a check as a win when one tool scores higher and the other tool's answer is documented. Ties and gaps in AthenaHQ's public docs are left out.

Choose AthenaHQ if you need

  • AI traffic and revenue attribution GA4 + GSC integration 'to connect AI visibility with site traffic'; 'AI Search Value' is a modelled $ estimate, not conversion attribution; reviewers note no conversion tie-in by default
  • more AI engines on the entry plan Starter/Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral (11 models) + more on request. Free Essential reportedly limited to ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot
  • agency and white-label features Group dashboards across many websites, group billing, custom roles; agency partner program with discounted licenses and client leads; public report links. White-label not documented
  • broad integrations GA4, GSC, Google Ads, Shopify, Webflow, Wix, Framer, WordPress, Payload, Sanity, Contentful, Looker Studio, Power BI/Fabric, Slack reports, Slack bot (Enterprise), MCP
  • team seats Unlimited members on all plans incl. free
  • alerts and scheduled reports Scheduled Slack PDF reports weekly/monthly/quarterly; report builder. Metric alerts not documented
  • security certifications SOC 2 (Type II claimed on pricing), GDPR compliant, DPA published; SAML SSO + audit logs on Enterprise. EU residency not stated

Choose RankRush if you need

  • frequent re-scans Scheduled weekly scans. Starter includes 4 visibility scans a month.
  • multi-market tracking Country, language and cities set per website and applied to every scan.

At a glance

AthenaHQ vs RankRush: pricing, engines and data

Prices and plan limits as each vendor published them on 23 to 24 September 2026. Check the vendor's pricing page before you buy, AI visibility pricing changes monthly.

Lowest listed price

AthenaHQ

Free tier, then $295/mo

RankRush

From €59/mo

Pricing and trial

AthenaHQ

Public. Essential free ($25 free credit, ~300 credits); Starter $295/mo (3,600 credits); Enterprise custom. Extra credits and API are paid add-ons on Starter

RankRush

Public pricing from €59 to €1,899 a month, about 20% off yearly. 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro.

AI engines

AthenaHQ

Starter/Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral (11 models) + more on request. Free Essential reportedly limited to ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot

RankRush

ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews on every plan, Claude as a paid add-on. No Google AI Mode, Copilot or Grok. Scored on the entry plan: 3 engines without add-ons.

How answers are captured

AthenaHQ

Collection method not disclosed in docs reviewed

RankRush

Google AI Overviews from the live Google results page. ChatGPT, Perplexity and Claude through their official APIs with web search on.

Scan frequency

AthenaHQ

Recurring schedules at weekly or monthly cadence per docs; multiple schedules; third-party review models daily runs; credit-metered

RankRush

Scheduled weekly scans. Starter includes 4 visibility scans a month.

All 24 checks

The full AthenaHQ vs RankRush comparison

Eight checks in each of three groups. Yes scores 1, Partial 0.5, No or not documented 0. Every AthenaHQ cell links to the page we verified it on.

Outcome: Does it help you rank in AI answers?

AthenaHQ 6/8 · RankRush 5.5/8

Fix guidance

Does it tell you what to fix, page by page?

AthenaHQ Yes

Site Health surfaces prioritized top-5 issues with 'Fix [field]' AI text generation, 'Fix with Athena' rewrites, copyable developer tickets; SEO recommendations API; Action Center

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Every failed audit check becomes a fix task with instructions, target URLs and paste-ready code.

AI-readiness audit

Does it audit your site for AI crawlers, robots.txt, llms.txt and schema?

AthenaHQ Yes

Site Health audits robots.txt verdicts, AI crawler access, schema markup, sitemaps, internal linking, page signals; staging checks per release; 'smart robots.txt and llms.txt' management listed on pricing

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

The website audit crawls your site and checks robots.txt, llms.txt, schema and crawlability, around 120 checks across five stages.

Content and publishing

Does it write content and publish it to your CMS?

AthenaHQ Yes

Content Hub write -> brief approval -> draft -> publish to WordPress, Shopify, Webflow, Wix, Framer, Payload, Sanity, Contentful; product catalog optimization for Shopify

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Publish plans topics, writes articles and pushes them to WordPress with Yoast or Rank Math meta. Starter and up.

Off-site work

Does it help you earn mentions on Reddit and third-party sites?

AthenaHQ Yes

Outreach: finds pages AI cites, extracts author email/LinkedIn, drafts pitch emails, kanban pipeline (PR/link-building). No Reddit engagement found

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Buzz finds Reddit threads where your brand belongs and drafts replies. You post them yourself, nothing is auto-posted.

Action impact

Does it measure whether a fix actually moved visibility?

AthenaHQ Partial

Content Hub tracks AI citations/traffic per published piece over time + live content delivery verification; no formal experiment/before-after report found

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

Per-action tracking (worked, no change, inconclusive) is built but not yet open to every customer.

AI crawler analytics

Does it show which AI bots crawl your site?

AthenaHQ Not documented

No customer-facing AI crawler log analytics found; /bot page documents Athena's own auditor; pricing lists crawler access management, not analytics

Source ↗
RankRush No

No AI crawler log analytics yet.

Traffic attribution

Does it tie AI visibility to traffic or revenue?

AthenaHQ Partial

GA4 + GSC integration 'to connect AI visibility with site traffic'; 'AI Search Value' is a modelled $ estimate, not conversion attribution; reviewers note no conversion tie-in by default

Source ↗
RankRush No

Google Search Console keyword import only. No GA4 or AI referral attribution yet.

Same-day self-serve

Can you sign up alone and see data the same day?

AthenaHQ Yes

Free 'Essential' self-serve signup ('Start for Free', $25 free credit); ~10 starter prompts auto-generated; setup 15-20 min, first results within hours

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Self-serve signup. Onboarding generates your keywords and runs the first scan automatically. 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro.

Performance: Can you trust the data?

AthenaHQ 5/8 · RankRush 6/8

Engine coverage

How many AI engines does the entry plan include, without paid add-ons? 5 or more is Yes, 3 to 4 Partial, 2 or fewer No.

AthenaHQ Yes

Starter/Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral (11 models) + more on request. Free Essential reportedly limited to ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews on every plan, Claude as a paid add-on. No Google AI Mode, Copilot or Grok. Scored on the entry plan: 3 engines without add-ons.

Consumer-app capture

Does it capture answers from the consumer apps (UI) or only from APIs?

AthenaHQ Not documented

Collection method not disclosed in docs reviewed

Source ↗
RankRush Mixed

Google AI Overviews from the live Google results page. ChatGPT, Perplexity and Claude through their official APIs with web search on.

Citation URLs

Does it show the exact URLs AI cites?

AthenaHQ Yes

Sources, source domain analytics, per-URL source inspector; 'Attributed Citation' flag

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Every cited URL is stored per answer and resolved to a brand, so you see which sources cite your competitors.

Scan frequency

Does it re-check prompts at least weekly?

AthenaHQ Partial

Recurring schedules at weekly or monthly cadence per docs; multiple schedules; third-party review models daily runs; credit-metered

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Scheduled weekly scans. Starter includes 4 visibility scans a month.

Prompts per price

Is the prompt allowance clear and fair for the entry price?

AthenaHQ Partial

Starter $295/mo = 3,600 credits, 1 credit = 1 AI response (e.g. ~28 prompts x 1 engine daily, or ~75 prompts x 11 engines weekly); unlimited topics

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

Keyword allowance scales by plan, up to 100 tracked keywords per website. Per-plan caps are not yet listed on the pricing page.

Markets and languages

Can you track by country and language?

AthenaHQ Partial

Location/country tracking available (location offering); Starter = single language/region, Enterprise = multi-language/multi-region

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Country, language and cities set per website and applied to every scan.

Competitor benchmark

Does it benchmark you against named competitors?

AthenaHQ Yes

Unlimited competitor tracking, share of voice, competitor heatmap

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Every cited brand is recorded. Up to 5 tracked competitors per website on the visibility chart, with suggestions from real citations.

Method transparency

Does it publish how scores are calculated?

AthenaHQ Partial

In-app glossary with metric formulas and QVEM volume-estimation methodology; collection method/sampling/variance not public

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

Visibility = answers where you appear divided by answers scored, per engine, failed checks excluded. Full method not yet published.

Features: Does it fit your team?

AthenaHQ 7.5/8 · RankRush 4.5/8

Public pricing and trial

Are prices public, with a trial or free tier?

AthenaHQ Yes

Public. Essential free ($25 free credit, ~300 credits); Starter $295/mo (3,600 credits); Enterprise custom. Extra credits and API are paid add-ons on Starter

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Public pricing from €59 to €1,899 a month, about 20% off yearly. 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro.

Agency and white-label

Does it support multiple clients and branded reports?

AthenaHQ Partial

Group dashboards across many websites, group billing, custom roles; agency partner program with discounted licenses and client leads; public report links. White-label not documented

Source ↗
RankRush No

1 to 50 websites per account by plan. No white-label yet, reports carry RankRush branding.

Prospecting

Can agencies scan prospects to win new clients?

AthenaHQ Yes

Pitch Workspace: 'Create Pitch' wizard analyzes a target site, competitors, prompts; public shareable pitch report; content pitches; agency page advertises 'Pitch-Ready Workspaces'

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

Lead Desk: upload a CSV of prospects, scan them in bulk and download a report for each one to send. Pro and up.

Integrations

Does it connect to GA4, GSC, CMSs and Slack?

AthenaHQ Yes

GA4, GSC, Google Ads, Shopify, Webflow, Wix, Framer, WordPress, Payload, Sanity, Contentful, Looker Studio, Power BI/Fabric, Slack reports, Slack bot (Enterprise), MCP

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

Google Search Console and WordPress. No GA4, Looker Studio, Shopify or Slack yet.

API and MCP access

Can you get the data out programmatically?

AthenaHQ Yes

Full REST API (prompts, metrics, content pipeline, pitch reports, knowledge base) + MCP server; API is paid add-on on Starter, included Enterprise

Source ↗
RankRush Yes

REST API, npm and Python CLI, and an MCP server. API on every paid plan.

Team seats

Can your whole team log in?

AthenaHQ Yes

Unlimited members on all plans incl. free

Source ↗
RankRush No

One user per account today. No team seats yet.

Alerts and reports

Does it alert you or email scheduled reports?

AthenaHQ Yes

Scheduled Slack PDF reports weekly/monthly/quarterly; report builder. Metric alerts not documented

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

On-demand PDF export of your report and scheduled scans. No alert or digest emails yet.

Security and compliance

Is it SOC 2 certified or GDPR-backed with EU data?

AthenaHQ Yes

SOC 2 (Type II claimed on pricing), GDPR compliant, DPA published; SAML SSO + audit logs on Enterprise. EU residency not stated

Source ↗
RankRush Partial

EU company based in Zagreb, Croatia. Production data hosted in the EU (Ireland), operating under GDPR. No SOC 2.

About AthenaHQ

'Agents to Win on AI Search' - helps commercial & enterprise businesses 'become the answer AI gives and the brand AI trusts'

Headquarters
San Francisco, CA, USA
Founded
2025 (Y Combinator W25)
Funding
$2.2M seed (YC-backed)
athenahq.ai ↗

How we scored AthenaHQ

We checked AthenaHQ's pricing page, docs, help center and changelog on 23 to 24 September 2026 against 24 checks. Outcome checks count double because a tool that tracks but never helps you rank is a report, not a fix. AthenaHQ ranks #16 of 45.

RankRush was scored from its own product code, strictly, and ranks #21. Competitors were scored from their public marketing and docs, which tends to flatter them slightly. A Yes often means "on some plan", plan gating is in the notes.

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it.

FAQ

AthenaHQ alternative: common questions

Straight answers from the same data as the table above.

Is RankRush a good AthenaHQ alternative?

It depends on what you need. Pick RankRush if you need frequent re-scans and multi-market tracking. Pick AthenaHQ if you need AI traffic and revenue attribution, more AI engines on the entry plan and agency and white-label features. On our 24-check rubric AthenaHQ ranks #16 and RankRush ranks #21 of 45 AI visibility tools.

How much does AthenaHQ cost?

Public. Essential free ($25 free credit, ~300 credits); Starter $295/mo (3,600 credits); Enterprise custom. Extra credits and API are paid add-ons on Starter Prices were checked on 23 to 24 September 2026. RankRush starts at €59 a month with a 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro.

Which AI engines does AthenaHQ track?

Starter/Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral (11 models) + more on request. Free Essential reportedly limited to ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot RankRush tracks ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews on every plan, with Claude as a paid add-on.

Does AthenaHQ have a free trial?

Free 'Essential' self-serve signup ('Start for Free', $25 free credit); ~10 starter prompts auto-generated; setup 15-20 min, first results within hours RankRush offers a 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro.

What is the difference between AthenaHQ and RankRush?

AthenaHQ: 'Agents to Win on AI Search' - helps commercial & enterprise businesses 'become the answer AI gives and the brand AI trusts'. RankRush: AI visibility tracking plus the audit, content and Reddit work that moves it. AthenaHQ is ahead on traffic attribution, engine coverage, agency and white-label, integrations, team seats, alerts and reports and security and compliance. RankRush is ahead on scan frequency and markets and languages.

See where your brand stands in AI answers.

Track ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews, audit your site for AI crawlers and turn every gap into a fix. 14-day free trial on Starter and Pro, from €59 a month.

Start free trial See pricing